Nokia Mobile Phone Review

Nokia E75 Unlocked Cell Phone with 3.2 MP Camera, 3G, Wi-Fi, GPS, Media Player, 4 GB MicroSD Card–U.S. Version with Full U.S. Warranty (Silver Black)

Posted in Amazon US by pinathablog on June 25, 2009

Nokia E75 Unlocked Cell Phone with 3.2 MP Camera, 3G, Wi-Fi, GPS, Media Player, 4 GB MicroSD Card–U.S. Version with Full U.S. Warranty (Silver Black)

Nokia E75 Unlocked Cell Phone with 3.2 MP Camera, 3G, Wi-Fi, GPS, Media Player, 4 GB MicroSD Card--U.S. Version with Full U.S. Warranty (Silver Black)

Nokia E75 Unlocked Cell Phone with 3.2 MP Camera, 3G, Wi-Fi, GPS, Media Player, 4 GB MicroSD Card--U.S. Version with Full U.S. Warranty (Silver Black)

Nokia E75 Description
Stylish business smartphone with a side sliding full keyboard and enhanced Nokia Email for Eseries. Nokia¿s consumer messaging service lifetime license; Nokia-hosted and Nokia-supported email push service for ISP emails. Service will be launched country by country starting beginning of 2009. wave 1 countries: Geotagging of images in camera application. When you upload this kind of images to OVI service it shows the place with Google Maps Designed for the best email experience, Side slide to boost your work & has entertain ment on board.It has elegant visual and sound effects.User / customer can configure all these features

Nokia E75 Customer Reviews

Great phone, weird wired headset, May 14, 2009
By Thomas W. Wright “cavehobbit” (a sandy hole in NJ)

I have had the phone for over 24 hours so far. Great phone. Good sound, good voice, fast O.S. Good signal reception all around, though in N. NJ that is not really a problem.

I charged it initially at home with the included AC charger, and at the office hooked it up with the included USB cable and saw the phone charging while I was playing with it and synching up my calendar.

I swapped my SIM card from the old phone, (HTC Hermes/ATT 8525), to this one and it worked right away. ATT mediaNet needed no configuration even though I had only added data/texting to my account from online only minutes before. WiFi works well in my home. This is my first time using ATT MediaNet so I can’t really comment, but it helped me compare prices on a microwave oven from inside a store. Amazon got an order for a microwave once I got home and I saved over $50. It is nice not hunting for a WiFi signal as I used to do. Glad I finally succumbed to paying for ATT’s service. I am not comfortable with Nokias included browser yet, but it seems to work well. I may try Opera.

I can work with office documents and synch up with my outlook calender faster than I could with my old HTC/ATT Win 6.1 smart phone. Nokia PC Suit is leagues ahead of MS Active Synch, and puts Motorola’s software to the shame it deserves.

Folks that play with it are amazed at how fast the phone responds when selecting applications. Instant response instead of a second or so wait as many Windows based phones have.

The one issue I have had is I can not get the included headset to work properly as a headset. I suspect it is intended as just a music headset, but no matter what I do I can not get loud enough sound out of it, and the manual has no mention of it other than showing where to plug it in. When you attach the headset the phone asks what you want to use it as. Whether I select headset or headphones it does not seem to work well. The phone will warn you to use the phone mic. I recommend getting a better headset/headphones when you buy the phone, I am doing that right after I post this. Maybe with more use I can sort it out. I only tested it by calling my office voice mail, since I did not want to annoy friends and family by making them guinea pigs.

This brings up the 3.5 mm jack the phone has. I am often on support calls. Sometimes for hours at a time. (Yes, I am an I.T. peon). I did not consider this when thinking about the phone, but there are NO standard headsets that use 3.5 jacks that I can find, they almost all use 2.5. The headsets that do use 3.5 are either iPhone style earbuds, which I find very uncomfortable, or ones intended for PC gaming, which use TWO plugs and are not usable on a phone. Not an over-the-ear one in the bunch. So I am stuck using bluetooth, which loses power fast and can’t last long anough, or getting a clunky adapter so I can use a standard 2.5 mm headset, or trying an iphone earbud style headset that has the microphone in the wire, not on a boom, which has poor voice quality compared to a boom and hurts my ears after a few minutes. Slightly disappointing.

I do like having the hidden qwerty keyboard, as I did with my prior phone, so that it is there when needed for documents, email, texting etc, but out of the way otherwise. Someday I may try a tablet-style phone, like the E71 or a blackberry, but this works well for me.

One big reason I got this phone is the number pad for dialing. While touch screens are nice, having them as the only interface to the phone is a mistake.If you need to dial a number fast, such as 911, it can be very tough to do. Number pads are better, and if the primary use of the phone is as, well, a PHONE, it makes sense. It fits easily into my shirt pocket. I do not need to hang it on my belt and feel like Batman as I would with a tablet PDA.

But touch screens are useful. I think this phone would benefit from one for navigating the menus, it would probably be faster than using the various keys. The screen could be larger, there would be room to extend it if Nokia moved the logo from the top of the phone.

There is a lot left to play with on this, like the multiple profiles, etc. So there is still more to learn on this.

But all-in-all, even with the headset issue, this is the best phone I have had yet, whether smart-phone or not. If this is an indication of where Nokia is going, they are going in the right direction.

E Series Style in a Great Slider Package, May 22, 2009
By Jared (Salem, OR United States)

With the incarnation of the E75, Nokia successfully continues the E series ideology of enterprise-oriented phones while supporting a balance of personal life and entertainment.

The E75 is the first QWERTY slider into the E series, yet maintains a pleasant thinness. It is not as thin as the E71, but Nokia is fitting quite a bit of hardware into this thin slider body. Nevertheless, the E75 is solidly built and maintains a great feel while being held open or closed.

The QWERTY keyboard featured on the E75 is huge. Coming from a narrower brick QWERTY, the jump to such a wider keyboard is impressive and helps make typing out messages on a phone less of a chore. Those who may have bigger fingers may appreciate the larger keys as featured on the E75. Unlike the E71 the E75 contains a dedicated Ctrl key, the E71’s key only being a secondary function. This dedicated key makes tasks like copying and pasting even easier.

Response time from this phone is pleasing – loading applications is fairly quick, and any seldom noticeable lag is minimal. Multitasking is rather simple, and having a couple applications simultaneously open does not significantly impact the phone’s performance.

Symbian S60 3rd with Feature Pack 2 is the operating system powering the E75. Search contacts directly from the home screen is a valued feature – as the name of a contact is typed (even from the keypad), results are quickly displayed above providing shortcuts to call or message the contact. Mail setup is a breeze and supports Exchange, and using the mail application is very easy and intuitive. The home screen is highly customizable, and the switching between work and personal modes makes the interface even more flexible.

Other benefits of the E75 are its wide range of connectivity – HSDPA, 802.11b/g, GPS, Bluetooth, etc. Additionally, the phone’s video record mode supports a VGA resolution at 30fps. The phone also comes included with a 4GB microSD card and the slot is external. Surprising was the quality of the included earbuds/mic – they aren’t the best quality on the market, but for included earbuds they are actually nice. A full 3.5mm audio jack is also onboard, opposed to 2.5mm. Additionally, the E75 can charge over USB, though not as fast as the provided adapter.

While the keyboard of the E75 brings advantages there are some drawbacks, though these are relatively minor. Because the keyboard is so wide, it can take a few uses to get accommodated to the width – anyone used to a brick QWERTY will need to get accustomed to reaching further with their thumbs. Unfortunately, there is no double quote character on the keyboard, not even as a second function. Instead, the double quote character must be accessed through the Character key. The absence of a left Ctrl key makes moving the cursor over by word practically impossible – both the ctrl key and directional pad are on the right side. The keyboard could also have benefitted by finger finders to help assist with positioning, though this isn’t a serious problem.

The keys on the keypad seem a bit small, and this could hinder some accuracy when working with the phone at a quick pace. However, to accommodate the E75‘s screen and physical size the keys had to be sized as they are. While it would have been nice to have a larger screen, it really wouldn’t be possible to accommodate one with the face keypad. The N97 is Nokia’s full-face screen model (lacking the dedicated keypad), and as such supports touch. The glossy face on the E75 means it is a fingerprint magnet – both keypad and screen. Be prepared to frequently wipe off prints.

There are some mediocre aspects to the E75. The battery is only 1000mAh, which will allow for about a full day of fairly heavy use. However, for light to medium use the battery should last a few days before needing a charge. Thankfully, Nokia included the charge over USB option in this phone. Additionally, the camera quality of the E75 is nothing special. And while the Nokia browser has been improved upon and supports Flash, it could use some more improvements in navigation and viewing.

The perceived drawbacks to the E75 are essentially nitpicks however. This phone has a number of positive aspects that make it very solid and a pleasure to use. Nokia’s E75 is an adequate powerhouse, fully capable of accommodating the aspects of an E series mobile lifestyle.

Not quite ready for prime time, June 16, 2009
By Benjamin Levenson (Cambridge, MA USA)

Phone has a lot of promise (turn-by-turn GPS works pretty well, nice form factor, solid build quality…), but the OS is not as polished as it should be for a $400+ smartphone. Two examples that were quite frustrating to resolve:
1 Some of the VOIP functionality has been stripped away. It is necessary to install additional software to restore the same functionality that was present on the E65:

http://www.forum.nokia.com/info/sw.nokia.com/id/d476061e-90ca-42e9-b3ea-1a852f3808ec/SIP_VoIP_Settings.html

2 There are issues with the way access points are managed which can make email over VPN a pain in the rear if you don’t get the configuration right on your first pass:

http://discussions.europe.nokia.com/discussions/board/message?board.id=messaging&thread.id=14948

I’m sending mine back to Amazon. The overall user experience with my E65 is /much/ better. I’ll stick with the E65 until Nokia irons out some of the kinks with the E75.

Buy Nokia E75 Unlocked Cell Phone with 3.2 MP Camera, 3G, Wi-Fi, GPS, Media Player, 4 GB MicroSD Card–U.S. Version with Full U.S. Warranty (Silver Black) at Amazon.com

Leave a comment